

For Immediate Release June 19, 2014 Contact: Michele Sharp
Director of Communications and Public Affairs
(203) 294-7213
Sharp@chime.org

## Connecticut Hospital Association Welcomes the Newly Elected Members of its Board of Trustees

WALLINGFORD – At the Connecticut Hospital Association (CHA) Annual Meeting, held June 18, 2014, Bruce Cummings, President/CEO, Lawrence + Memorial Hospital, began his two-year term as Chairman of the CHA Board of Trustees. He succeeds Susan L. Davis, EdD, RN, Board Member and Former President/CEO, St. Vincent's Health Services, and President & CEO, Sacred Heart Health System (Florida), who will now serve as Immediate Past Chairman.

Additionally, CHA members elected trustees and officers for the CHA 2014-2015 Board of Trustees.

David Whitehead, President, Hartford HealthCare East Region, will serve as Vice Chairman. Christopher O'Connor, Executive Vice President, COO, Yale New Haven Health System, will serve as Treasurer. Peter Karl, President and CEO, Eastern Connecticut Health Network, will serve as Secretary and as Chairman of the Committee on Government. Patrick Charmel, President and Chief Executive Officer, Griffin Hospital, will serve as Chairman of the Diversified Network Services Board, overseeing CHA's fee-based services. John Murphy, MD, President and CEO, Western Connecticut Health Network, will serve as Chairman of the Committee on Patient Care Quality. Christopher Dadlez, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, will serve as Chairman of the Committee on Population Health. Elliot Joseph, President and CEO, Hartford HealthCare, will serve as Chairman of the Committee on Hospital Finance. Marna Borgstrom, Chief Executive Officer, Yale-New Haven Hospital and President and CEO, Yale New Haven Health System, will serve as Executive Committee At Large Member. Kurt Barwis, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bristol Hospital, will serve as CEO Forum Chairman.

## Newly elected or reelected trustees include:

Rohit Bhalla, MD, Vice President, Chief Quality Officer, Stamford Hospital; Christopher Dadlez, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center; William Jennings, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bridgeport Hospital; John Murphy, MD, President and CEO, Western Connecticut Health Network; Kevin Myatt, Senior Vice President, Human Resources, Yale-New Haven Hospital and Yale New Haven Health System; Darlene Stromstad, President and CEO, Waterbury Hospital; and Chad Wable, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Mary's Hospital.

## Other members of the 2014-2015 CHA Board include:

Vincent Capece Jr., President/CEO, Middlesex Hospital; Ulysses Hammond, Past Board Chairman, Lawrence + Memorial Hospital; Jennifer Jackson, President and CEO, CHA; Curtis Robinson, Board Member, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center; and Robert Smanik, President and Chief Executive Officer, Day Kimball Hospital.

###

## **About CHA**

The Connecticut Hospital Association has been dedicated to serving Connecticut's hospitals since 1919. Through state and federal advocacy, CHA represents the interests of Connecticut's hospitals on key healthcare issues in the areas of quality and patient safety, access and coverage, workforce, community health, diversity, and hospital reimbursement.